Sign In Forgot Password

Our Clergy & Staff

BMH-BJ Clergy

Rabbi Yaakov Chaitovsky


Rabbi Yaakov Chaitovsky was born in Philadelphia and received his rabbinic ordination from Yeshiva University. He began his rabbinic career at Baltimore’s Beth Tfiloh Congregagtion and then served Annapolis, MD’s Knesseth Israel Congregation. He spent 10 summers on the rabbinical staff of the B’nai B’rith Leadership Kallah in Starlight, Pennsylvania. Rabbi Chaitovsky also received his Juris Doctorate from the University of Maryland School of Law.

Rabbi Chaitovsky was the rabbi of BMH-BJ from 1995-2001 and returned to the synagogue and community he always loved in time for the Yamim Noraim in 2014 and then full-time at the start of 2015. During his years away, Rabbi Chaitovsky was the Senior Judaic Educator and then School Rabbi and Director of Jewish Life at the Shoshana Cardin High School, a pluralistic community school, in Baltimore.

A very popular and informative presenter, he has spoken to numerous teen and adult audiences around the world on a wide range of popular and scholarly topics. Rabbi Chaitovsky has extensive interest in Jewish ethics and contemporary society, and he is committed to the unity and diversity of the Jewish people. He also is an accomplished musician and an avid tennis player.


Cantor Martin Goldstein


Cantor Martin Goldstein is a 7th generation Chazzan in his 40th year as a singer, educator, and clergy.  He begins his time as the new Cantor at the BMH-BJ Congregation with the High Holy Days 5779. Cantor Marty, began his training at age 6 with his father, AH” Cantor Jacob Goldstein, who also served as Cantor of the BMH from 1970-72.  Cantor Marty also studied with several of the great Cantors of our time including Cantor Moshe Ganchoff and Cantor Leibele Waldman. 

Cantor Goldstein began his career singing with his parents Jack and Harriett Goldstein and 4 siblings as the Goldstein Family Singers. Cantor Marty continued his early training by singing in hotels such as Grossinger’s and Kutcher’s in the Catskill mountains as a choir boy and soloist. Cantor Goldstein was assistant conductor for the Shalom Singers during his choral training years in Boro Park, NY. Cantor Goldstein’s vocal training included time at Hunter College of the CUNY and at Manhattan School of Music in NYC and graduated from Empire State College of the SUNY. He began his career as a Cantor at age 19 with his first High Holidays in Del Rey Beach, Florida. Cantor Marty served 3 synagogues before coming the BMH-BJ. Temple Beth Chai in Hauppauge, New York, The Greenburgh Hebrew Center in Dobbs Ferry, NY and 25 years at the Hebrew Educational Alliance in Denver.  Cantor Marty has trained hundreds of B’nai Mitzvah students during his career, as well as teaching various subjects in adult education. Among his favorites are Kabbalah and Jewish History.

Cantor Marty and his wife Eve have 4 children between them, Shayna, Jake, Rafi and Jack. They are all honored and excited to begin a new journey in this wonderful community.


Cantor Joel Lichterman

  Cantor Emeritus



Cantor Zachary Kutner


  Cantor Emeritus




Synagogue Staff

Ilene Rosen

  Executive Director




 Jeff Kline






Andy Schwartz

  Assistant Executive Director & Facilities Manager



Tamara Berkman

  Director of Communications and Events



Rachael Neustadt

  Clergy Assistant




Nora Jamieson

  Office Manager



 Emily Menkis



BMH-BJ Preschool

Lindsey Levin-Salamon

  Preschool Director



Facilities Team









Mount Nebo Memorial Park

Steve Miller

  Director, Mt. Nebo Memorial Park




2019-2020 BMH-BJ Board of Trustees

Jeff Kline, President
Debbie Friedman, Vice President
Jerry Jurinsky, Vice President
Jerry Rotenberg, Vice President
Ben Streltzer, Treasures
Ella Peterson, Secretary
Allen Tenebbaum
Arden Wandel z"l
Gary Saltzman
Jacqui Becket
Jim Korn
Jodi Cooper
Michael Engleberg
Pam Wolf
Shaul Gabbay
Van Troi Perozo 

BMH-BJ Past Presidents

Edward N. Barad
Mark Boscoe
Barbara Burry 
Bernice Dinner z"l
Michael Engleberg
Richard Fleischman
Robert Friedman
Lawrence Gelfond
Melvin Goldberg z"l
Leland Huttner z"l
Mickey Mandel z"l
H. Michael Miller
Ilene Rosen
Charlene Sachter z"l
David Suson z"l
Arden Wandel z"l
Daniel Woodrow
Ronald I. Zall z"l


Tue, August 4 2020 14 Av 5780